PRIZE – Holmes Rolston, III – 3rd Annual Early Career Essay Prize

Invitation for submission of papers on all aspects of environmental philosophy
A prize of $500 will be awarded to the winning essay
Deadline for submissions: 15 April 2015

The International Society for Environmental Ethics (ISEE) and the Center for Environmental Philosophy invite submissions for their annual essay prize for scholars in the early stages of their career. The prize is named in honor of Professor Holmes Rolston, III, for his pioneering work in the field of environmental philosophy.

Rolston Prize Papers are invited on all aspects of environmental philosophy. A prize of $500 will be awarded to the winning essay. All submitted papers that qualify (see conditions) will be reviewed by an Essay Prize Committee in consultation with the Editorial Board of Environmental Ethics. The winning essay will be published in the journal Environmental Ethics.


Closing date for submissions: 15 April 2015
Eligibility: Submissions are invited from scholars who already hold a Ph.D. and have earned their doctorate no more than five years prior to the submission deadline.
Submissions must be accompanied by a one-page CV to provide evidence of early career status.
Style and content: Consult the University of Chicago Manual of Style or any recent issue of Environmental Ethics. Essays must be prepared for blind review (cover page with contact information and email on a separate page).
Word limit: 60,000 characters (including spaces), including notes and references. An abstract of 100–150 words should also be included.
Submissions should be emailed to: Please put “Essay Prize” in the subject line of the email submission. If you do not receive confirmation that your submission has been received within 3 days, please resubmit the paper.

The essay should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere, and should not be submitted to any other journal until the outcome of the competition is announced. The decision of the committee will be final. There is only one prize per year and the committee reserves the right not to award the prize if submissions are not of an appropriate standard.

Dr. Philip Cafaro, President
International Society for Environmental Ethics
Colorado State University,

Dr. Eugene C. Hargrove, Director
Center for Environmental Philosophy
University of North Texas,